Everyone loves a Freebie

Its a fact of life that everyone loves to get something for nothing, but not everyone is willing to put a little effort in to it.

Within the D&D community there is a free to join community hosted by the producers of the game and as a UK user I obviously signed up to the D&D UK sub-group – one of the best decisions I ever made!

Not only do I get help and advice from other UK gamers but I get the chance to take part in free to enter competitions and I’ve got to admit I’ve done bloody well out of them so far.

In the last two years I have received a box of miniatures, a copy of the Delux DMG1, Delux MM1, a set of the “pocket edition” retro Basic and Expert boxed sets, the Heroes of Shadow hardback and most recently won a copy of the Mordenkainen’s Magnificent Emporium. But here’s where it gets even better, two days after being notified that I had won the Emporium I received another email apologising that their stock hadnt arrived and so to “ease my waiting” I could choose 1 of 4 items to receive in the meantime (in addition to the final arrival of the Emporium!), well as I had 3 of the 4 already it was a simple choice, and so I now also have the Shadowfell: Gloomwrought and Beyond boxed set as well.

Sadly its not all cheers and laughter as I lost out on major competition to win a Neverwinter bundle (campaign guide, box of fortune cards, Legend of Drizzt board game, and signed copy of Neverwinter book 2) by getting 1 answer wrong (the neverwinter encounters season runs for 14 weeks, not the usual 13). Oh well. With the haul of goodies I’ve received so far I really cant complain – other than nowhere in my town (Leicester UK) actually runs the encounters program so a slight disadvantage there.

But even without these “freebies” being a member of the community group has helped to improve my own games and gaming experience and I cant recommend them highly enough.

2 Responses to “Everyone loves a Freebie”

  1. Yes everyone loves freebies as you put it whats the link to sign up I could do with some assistance from other DM’s.

  2. http://community.wizards.com

    Lots of groups on the there, personally I find the DNDUK, skill challenge and new DM’s group most useful.

    I’m on there as Vobeskhan

Leave a Reply

