The Visitor

(Complete the story after the door opens in less than 500 words)

It was midnight and I was in bed asleep.  Suddenly I was awoken by a thunderous pounding on the front door.  I leapt out of bed, terrified by the noise, and very fearfully crept down the stairs to the front door.

“Who’s there?” I called.

There was no reply, but I could hear scratching on the other side of the door.

With my heart in my mouth I slowly opened the door, and there stood a young boy.  He looked about nine or ten years old and he was dressed in dirt covered, raggedy clothes that had definitely seen better days.  I was about to ask him who he was and what he wanted, when he just pitched forwards, collapsing onto the hallway carpet.

I closed the door and carefully lifted the boy in my arms, he was so light and frail, his skin was cold and clammy with hardly any colour to it other than the dirt.

Carrying him into the lounge, I placed him in the armchair and pulled it nearer the fireplace, grabbing the old travel blanket from the back of the sofa and putting it around the still unconscious boy.

After a few minutes I had the fire going and the room began to feel comfortably warm, but the child still was cold and unresponsive.  Carefully I checked for any visible signs of injury but could find nothing to explain his condition.  The poor boy’s chest barely rose with his shallow breath.  It was then that I noticed the faintest movement of his lips as if he were murmuring something but I couldn’t quite make it out. I leant in closer in an effort to learn what had happened to the child, my ear just brushing the tip of his cold little nose.

I felt a sudden stinging sensation at the side of my head and then nothing as the black, oblivion of unconsciousness overtook me.

That was how I came into the master’s service, all those centuries ago. “No, no don’t struggle my dear. Those ropes are quite securely tied. Feel free to scream though, the master says it makes you taste better with a little fear pumping the adrenaline around. Who knows, you’re pretty enough, he may decide to add you to the family. I hope not though, I get to play with the left-over’s. Shh! The master’s coming now”.

Leave a Reply

