WOW – didn’t realise I was pissing in someone’s pond!

This evening I received the following email from the organiser of WORPiGS (Wigston & Oadby Role Playing Games Society) meetup group.
 
 

From: info@meetup.com
To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: Ben Coulthard sent you a message: 1st edition vs 4th edition
Date: Thu, 8 Mar 2012 15:37:09 -0500
 
Meetup
 
Meetup Message from: Ben Coulthard, Dungeon Master of Wigston and Oadby Role Playing Games Society

1st edition vs 4th edition

Hi MikWhen I started this club it was for hard core 1st edition roleplayers – and although I wasn’t bothered about you promoting your 4th edition stuff it seems that some of the others in the group are peeved that the WORPiGs site is being used to advertise what they see as more of a mass market game.

I feel stuck in the middle but would it be a massive ball ache to ask you not to promote your stuff on the WORPiGs site and stick to using the East Midlands route that you are already using?

I feel a little like this site is running away with me as it is – I pay £140 a year to keep it up and we get all kinds of nutters, power gamers, rulesters and muppets making random comments or joining up and doing nothing… all I wanted was a bunch of ‘normal’ adults to play with…

One thing I was considering was binning the site and just running the worpigs another way… somewhere else.

Anyway if you could do as asked that would go a long way to calming the easily riled 1st editoners and I’ll make it clear that the site is more aimed at this group.

Cheers and apols,

Ben

 
I’ve now left WORPIGS though I did send a (polite) reply stating I didnt realise it was a 1e only site, what with all the 40k etc (could there be any bigger a mass-market game? lets face it they have their own worldwide chain of stores, hello!) LMAO.
 
Have since had another reply from from Ben “apologising” for the apparent hipocrasy, looks like edition elitism is alive and well and festering in Wigston (can you hear banjo’s?)
 
So from now on the game will only be listed on the East Midland Role Playing Group where ALL rpg’s are equally welcome, though the WORPiGS may want to consider renaming their group accordingly.
 
Ok, bitchy rant over, Let the games continue!
 
Leave a Reply

