TweetupTour does Star Wars

So, Adam who organises the Tweetup events had this crazy idea of going on a quick tour of the UK in his free time and at his own expense to visit those areas where he either hadn’t been before or which were unrepresented usually at our Tweetup D&D events.

His schedule took in Glasgow (running a game of D&DNext on the fabled Isle of Dread) before heading down via Manchester to Stoke to run a group through the first Lair Assault, Forge of the Dawn Titan (using his homemade and excellent 3D terrain) – the players in Stoke achieved the unthinkable – not only beating the adventure but surviving intact! His epic journey then brought him over to Leicester to run myself and Liam through a game of Star Wars: Edge of the Empire with an adventure he had come up with himself.

I was using my Scoundrel in Stormtrooper gear and Liam had a Droid Bounty Hunter named LGX-25. The setup was that we had been offered 2 jobs.

  1. The fledgling Rebel Alliance wanted us to extract an individual from an Imperial stockade on Kashyyyk, the Wookie homeworld.
  2. The Hutt’s wanted us to kidnap someone from the very same stockade, but were supplying an Imperial shuttle complete with datacodes to get us in and out past the fleet in orbit. On checking the information its the same individual too!

We had a quick discussion and decided to take the Hutt mission as we get to keep the ship afterwards, and we could always then offer to “rescue” the person for the Rebel’s – at a price 😉

We geared up and the shuttles autopilot took us into hyperspace, bringing us out on course to Kashyyyk and transmitted the access codes. Before we’d even received authorisation we we’re heading towards a remote landing pad. Exiting the shuttle we find a crate equipped with cryo-tech. A Rodian arrives in the repulsor lift and rudely tells us to get the lead out.

Down on the ground a speeder awaits and we load the crate and its autopilot takes us into the forest. A small force of Wookie rebels notice my trooper armour and shoot at us causing the autopilot to fail, LGX-25 grabbed the controls and brings us to a stop. We’re quickly surrounded but manage to convince the furballs that we’re Rebel operatives, even getting them to agree to provide a distraction to aid us. They give us more info on the layout and patrols and we decide to head for a maintenance shed to tap the power grid.

With the wookies distraction LGX-25 tries to cut through the fence, and gets electrocuted! I place a helping boot on his back pushing him through the hole he made and following him through, dragging his inert form to the door we need before trying to kickstart his reboot. The droid comes round enough to (eventually) unlock the door and we step inside before the patrol can spot us.

Inside is a technician at a computer reading his monitors, switching my rifle to stun mode I take him out quickly and quietly, tying him up while LGX-25 accesses the system and checks the prisoner list, of the 5 inmates our target isn’t listed. I suggest he search the personnel files for the name we’ve been given – and its the freaking commandant! Maybe this guy is defecting, whatever, we need his ass in the crate. Looking on his file we realise why the crates so small, he’s the same race as Yoda.

LGX-25 sends a direct message through to the commandant telling him we’re here for him and to come to us, if he gets stopped tell them he needs to take a tech down to sort a problem out. When they arrive the tech is surprised to see us and dives for the alarm, I manage to get another stun shot off but his unconscious form  falls on the trigger and the klaxons wail.

We decide to take the Commandant back to his office and disable the alerts from there. En route a pair of troopers stop us, questioning where my patrol partner is, I use my glib tongue to convince him that my partner had to go sick “think it was something he ate, I’d avoid the grey paste in the canteen if I were you”, not totally convinced they accompany us.

Reaching the office the commandant stops the alert and LGX-25 tries to shiv one of the troopers with a vibro-knife. The remaining trooper looks to me and says “well, shoot him!” I raise my blaster rifle – and shoot the surprised trooper. Both troopers recover quickly and its a full on battle. It starts to go badly for LGX-25 and as I drop one trooper a Naval trooper has come to investigate the noise. I take a risk and shoot at him, my blast tearing through him and knocking him back into the door controls, causing the room to go into lockdown mode as blast doors and shutters slam into place.

LGX-25 is deactivated by this time, the troopers own vibro-blade having found some critical wiring and he turns his attention to me with his blaster. It bloody hurts to be on the receiving end! I take a risk, grabbing the fallen troopers blaster and firing both at the remaining foe – but the second gun is empty so I toss it back to the floor.

The commandant begins to grow a pair and finally pulls his service pistol, taking a shot at the trooper, it’s not a big hit but enough to distract him long enough for me to get the drop on him once more, my shot taking him in the head – taking him out and cutting off the comm link he’d just activated.

I slap a quick stimpack on my arm as I move to try to aid LGX-25, not through any sense of friendship but my odds of survival are better with him than without him. With the commandants assistance I get him mobile once more. We decide to use the computer access to fake a fire alarm hoping that all personnel will then assemble at the designated point – our luck holds and the security cameras show them lining up. Then we activate the automated defenses and massacre the assembled troops, unfortunately we can’t switch the guns back off, so with LGX-25 using the cameras to guide me I have to sneak back to the power control room as the technician has regained consciousness and is trying to lock us out of the system. I burst into the control room weapon at the ready but can’t see him. Putting a full cartridge in my blaster pistol I rig it to overload and jam it into the power regulators, diving out of the door as it blows, the power to the base shutting off just in time to stop the guns training on me.

Signalling the all clear, LGX-25 and the commandant meet me at the speeder bay and we take a pair of speeder bikes back to our downed speeder. While LGX-25 repairs our speeder I try to convince the commandant of the necessity of him getting in the crate, when he doesn’t go for it LGX-25 calls for his assistance, while he’s distracted I knock him out with the butt of my rifle (I may have hit him a little too hard, its been a bad day, not my problem once he’s delivered) and stuff his limp form in the cryo-crate.

e get back to the landing pad and the Rodian punches in the release codes to get us back on the shuttle. As we leave orbit a Star Destroyer signals us that our pass code is out of date and with no-one answering their comms below (yeah, that’s because they dead!) orders us to dock and be boarded while they check our credentials. The autopilot the Rodian programmed kicks in and we’re whisked once again into hyperspace.

We arrive back at Tattooine and deliver the crate to the Hutt, who keep their side of the deal and release the shuttles computer to our control. Now we need to get the hell out of here, it wont take that Destroyer long to track our hyperspace trajectory and chase us here.

Huge thanks to Adam, who admitted he would be winging most of this as he’d had no time to prep (not surprised given his schedule) and also wanted to see how easy it would be to run on the fly rather than the (albeit excellent) pregenerated adventures available. I would definitely say it works well, especially with the narrative nature of the system.

Looking forward to the further adventures of Matwe and LGX-25.

6 Responses to “TweetupTour does Star Wars”

  1. steeplejackuk Says:

    This is super awesome mate, so would have loved to be a part of that game. I’ve never played Star Wars RPG, although I owned the first one years ago. Sadly not any longer. Anyway I still can’t get my head around the funky dice, I can see interpreting their varied combinations being awkward. Still if its more a narrative game it might work well over G+.

    Interesting to see how the complications came up, was Adam letting you fail forward? I hated the binary nature of Skill Challenges, but love the idea that even when you fail, you succeed but with a complication, which sounded like you guys kept doing – but that made for a more memorable experience all round. Excellent write up anyway.

    • With the dice system its possible to fail the task at hand but gain advantages doing so (and vice versa). Although we convinced the Wookies to help we got threat on it and decided we’d insulted them.
      I’ve played it over G+\roll20 with Liam previously and it works well too.

  2. This sounds like a fun RPG system. I *really* like how your description of game events reads; you captured the feel of the SW Universe. This and the previous SW RPG post are like short stories out of SW-canon novels or side missions from KOTOR. I hope you do more of them…!!

  3. […] I won’t bore you with my account of the game, since Mik has done a great write up here: https://vobeskhan.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/tweetuptour-does-star-wars/ […]

  4. We’re next playing on the 24th, though more of a follow on from Vobeskhan’s previous post, so I’m sure he’ll do more!

Leave a Reply

