You can have any colour, as long as it’s Black!

BLRecently there have been several discussions within the Facebook group of our Warhammer 40K club regarding painted/unpainted armies. While the majority of the players already have their forces painted to an immaculate condition I must sadly admit that mine are not. While I have several units finished and more at least base coated the vast majority of my Black Legion Chaos Space Marines are still bare plastic/metal miniatures. I have recently purchased several new paints and a brush from Tabletop Tyrants and finally the opportunity and inclination to get more of my models painted occurred together and following a friends blog post, I thought I’d show my progress here.

Not wanting to over do it and put myself off further painting I started CAM00531with just four of my troopers, and spent a Sunday afternoon last weekend bringing them to a standard I was happy with. They might not be “Golden Demon” standard but I don’t intend to enter competitions with them. I chose 3-4 colours (including the basic black) and stick with them, I will probably use more on character models but for rank and file this is enough for me. Traditionally Black Legion have gold trim on their shoulder pads but I have gone for a silver one (my older mini’s used Chainmail, but I’m currently using Leadbelcher). The mini on the far left was one of my previously painted ones I was using for reference.

CAM00532CAM00534CAM00533

Not sure why but I tend to group my marines into units based upon their headgear and these four models were the only “bullhorn” ones that I had ready base sprayed.

CAM00544-1This week I chose another set of headgear to catch up with, the “skulltops”.

This time I had six models to do, five of them were of the fairly old release which didn’t have an awful lot of definition and wasnt helped by a rather over-enthusiastic application of base spray many moons ago.

The sixth model was of the slightly newer version (which I think stand a little taller, though that could just be by the pose) and has more detailing on the shoulder pads in particular.

Sunday afternoon seems to be becoming my painting time, as there really is nothing worth watching on TV, so with brush in hand I got under way.

CAM00547-1Rather than paint a single mini to completion at a time, I prefer to work on the small group as production line sort of thing, completing the use of one colour across all the mini’s before changing to the next colour. The bonus of doing this is that by the time I start using the next colour the first model is dry.

For those that want to know I’m using GW paints and a GW Standard brush, as and when I decide to get more involved in the painting side of the hobby I might begin  experimenting with things like drybrushing, shading and using inks etc, but for now I’m happy with just painting as I am.

CAM00548-1

Although my older “skulltops” had the horn-parts of their helmets painted in red I’m really liking the way Screaming Bell looks on the models so chose to continue using that just as I had last week on the “bullhorns”.

Once again the eye slots are picked out with Mephiston Red before a little tidying up with Abaddon Black.

CAM00549-1CAM00550-1The model on the left is equipped with a really old version of the Plasma Gun, on previous models I had painted the casing in Blood Red (yes that’s how old some of my paints were) but although you can’t really see it from this angle, I’ve kept with the Screaming Bell ridges and black cowling.

On the model on the right (which is the newer one I mentioned) I used a combination of Leadbelcher and Screaming Bell to pick out the motif on the shoulder pad.

This brings the total of my painted infantry to thirty-five models, with fifty-four base coated (mainly in black, though twenty are Khorne Berserkers in another colour) and another forty-nine remaining bare. That’s just the ones in my KR case and doesn’t include my terminators, raptors bikers, character models, vehicles etc, so plenty still to do but it will get there eventually.

Next week sees the fifth and final round of our clubs inaugral tournament, and I will be facing the Tau forces of fellow blogger Fenriryan. Since my return to the battlefields of the 41st millenium my dice gods have not been my friend and I’ve failed to win a game yet. Who knows, perhaps once I start fielding more painted forces the fickle powers of Chaos may begin to swing in my favour – either way I still intend to have fun regardless.

5 Responses to “You can have any colour, as long as it’s Black!”

  1. Matt Mawdsley Says:

    Mik, try setting your camera/phone to “macro” focus mode (rather than “auto”), should help with this close up work. I enjoyed following along =)

  2. 40kterminatus Says:

    Looking cool, good job.

  3. […] Despite losing all of my games (both in and out of the tournament) I’m enjoying getting back into the game and to grips with the 6th edition rules. Hopefully my luck with the dice shall change somewhere in the future , but even if it doesn’t I’ll have fun regardless with my themed army selection and gradual painting of my army. […]

Leave a Reply

