AllScars 2014 Tournament Rnd 1 – v’s Imperial Marines/Guard

BLYesterday saw my Black Legion take the field once more as the Leicester All Scars 2014 Tournament got under way.

My list was a little different than I usually take, with less bikers and more troop units as I felt that I needed to consider capturing objectives more than out-and-out carnage, so here is the list I was playing:-

 

Pts Number Total
HQ Choice Dark Apostle 105 1 115
Combi-melta 10 1
Power Maul 0 1
Sigil of Corruption 0 1
Vet of Long War 0 1
Troops
Chaos Cultists 50 1 102
Heavy Stubber 5 2
shotgun 2 1
extra cultists 4 10
CSM Squad 75 1 218
Meltagun 10 2
Vet of Long War 1 10
Combi-Bolter 3 1
extra marines 13 5
Rhino 35 1
Dirge Caster 5 1
Warpflame Gargoyles 5 1
CSM Squad 75 1 218
Meltagun 10 2
Vet of Long War 1 10
Combi-Bolter 3 1
extra marines 13 5
Rhino 35 1
Dirge Caster 5 1
Warpflame Gargoyles 5 1
CSM Squad 75 1 173
Meltagun 10 2
Vet of Long War 1 10
Combi-Bolter 3 1
extra marines 13 5
CSM Squad 75 1 173
Meltagun 10 2
Vet of Long War 1 10
Combi-Bolter 3 1
extra marines 13 5
Heavy
Havocs 75 1 178
Missile Launchers 15 3
Flak Missiles 10 3
Lascannon 20 1
Vet of Long War 1 5
Combi-bolter 3 1
Land Raider 230 1 240
Dirge Caster 5 1
Warpflame Gargoyle 5 1
Vindicator 120 1 140
Dirge Caster 5 1
Siege Shield 10 1
Warpflame Gargoyle 5 1
Fast Attack
Chaos Bikers 70 1 170
Meltagun 10 2
Vet of Long War 1 5
Mark of Tzeentch 5 3
Meltabombs 5 1
Power Maul 15 1
extra marines 20 2
Heldrake 170 1 170
Baleflamer
Fortifications
Aegis 50 1 100
Quad gun 50
Total 1997

And for the first time since returning to the battlefields of the 41st millennium  I wasn’t fielding any bare plastic models!

2014-Rnd-1-Legion

I knew I would be facing a hard game even before the army lists were published , but once I saw Paul’s list I thought I would last about 3 turns!

2014-Rnd-1-Pauls-force

Paul won the roll for first turn and I failed to seize the initiative. The first round saw him immobilise my landraider and destroy the rhino sat beside it, then his wyverns opened up on my cultists absolutely destroying them with 11 hits left over to pound my dark apostle into mush as he had chosen to lead them.

The onslaught continued into the following rounds as my havocs and the aegis-quad gun were also reduced to a single missile launcher wielding man.

2014-Rnd-1-pic-3

My remaining rhino and the vindicator began maneuvering around the building towards the centre of the board as Paul’s centurions slowly advanced with their librarian close behind.

2014-Rnd-1-pic-4

But even the cover of a ruined building didn’t save them from the leman russ’s barrage and the rhino was wrecked, leaving the vindicator to advance alone and damaged. The troops from the first destroyed rhino advanced towards the centurions and unleashed bolter and melta fire, with the stationary raider adding its weapons to the fray. They managed to reduce their foe to a single centurion who then proceeded to annihilate them for their efforts while the librarian ran back towards his own lines.

2014-Rnd-1-pic-5

The vindicator finally got into a position where he could target the enemy but the shot went wildly off target and hit nothing, now he was exposed the massed imperial fire blew the tank to bits.

2014-Rnd-1-pic-6

With the dwindling forces facing them, the emboldened imperial troops advanced towards the central objective.

2014-Rnd-1-pic-7

My bikers finally made an appearance, destroying a razorback and some of its passengers, reducing them to a 3 man unit before the dreaded wyverns shredded them also. The imperial troops proceeded to enter the building, killing my last havoc in close combat before capturing the objective within.

2014-Rnd-1-pic-8

Finally my heldrake decided to turn up, vector striking 2 of the imperial troops before turning its baleflamer upon the squad of guardsmen and setting them alight with soulblaze.

Paul’s remaining pair of razorbacks advanced, leaving his quad gun unmanned as his centurion destroyed my last troop unit, before advancing into the building in preparation of attacking the stricken raider.

2014-Rnd-1-pic-9

My heldrake flew along Paul’s line and managed to set his second squad of centurions ablaze but in his fifth turn he managed to blast my raider to scrap and with a mass of snap firing lascannons and gravcannons the heldrake was brought down in a ball of flaming debris that struck the ground harming no-one but itself.

I had great fun with this game, and after seeing how brutal those wyverns can be it certainly makes we ponder some guard allies for my legion. Paul knows his list and how best to use them and is a gent to play against – even if he does take no prisoners, but isn’t that what it’s about playing to the best of your ability.

After the game Paul had won the “table prize” of a box of new dice which he graciously donated to me in the hopes that I’d have better rolls in future. We also had a club photo taken which is up on the website (I’m hiding at the back).

Next round I face John who surprised my by fielding Grey Knights with imperial marine allies rather than his Chaos army. Should be interesting.

One Response to “AllScars 2014 Tournament Rnd 1 – v’s Imperial Marines/Guard”

  1. […] This would be my last game of 6e (as a club we switch to 7e as of next week) and I didn’t change my force composition from last round. […]

Leave a Reply

