All Scars painting challenge – The Survivor Series 2016 – October

survivor series

Well October already, where has the year gone? Originally I was going to pledge a unit of my Thousand Son’s marines (following a colour scheme test during last month), but while attending a game session I spotted a Facebook 14407831_1211321462273593_223900966_opost on the Starbase Leicester page about a case of miniatures that were on sale in a local charity shop at a reasonable price. Myself and Jon hot-footed round there but were five minutes too late, they had closed for the day. Not to be put off I made sure I was there for when they opened for business the next morning and viola! A chunky GW carry case in decent condition, foam included (not in particularly good condition) and the models inside.

Now most are apparently from the Blackreach set of Blood Angels and of no real interest to me, but there was a Land Raider and a Predator which I quite liked the look of.

The Land Raider had been given hull mounted assault cannons, but I could just use them as count as Heavy Bolters. However the sponsons were the issue, one was a Heavy Flamer while the other was Hurricane Bolters, WTF? Thankfully another of my fellow All Scars, Jack, had a spare set of Lascannon sponsons that he said I could have so they were replaceable.

I took the opportunity to test a stripping method on some of the other Blood Angels, and satisfied in its results I’m planning on going ahead and using it on several of the Chaos models I want to strip for repainting.

These are the pictures I took whn I first opened the case.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also managed to swap the predators turret with Jon for a twin lascannon one, and following a session of cleaning up and adding various spare Defiler armour plates I “Chaosed” the pair up and got them primed. Then I decided to change my pledge and get the Land Raider painted up (as it would also give me a chance to use more of the excellent custom decals Mark had made for me).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So there we have it, another months pledge completed. I’ll probably take the opportunity to add decals to another squad of my existing units like I did last month, as well as updating their bases to match the newer models.

cam05194

 

Leave a Reply

