All Scars painting challenge – The Survivor Series 2017 – March

So this month for the Survivor Series, rather than go with something I would be needing for the annual All Scars Tournament I went with something just because I liked the models – that and the fact that I’m not taking part in the tournament this year (won’t go into it here, maybe in a later post).

So I had recently acquired some Cataphractii terminators from fellow club members Jon and Alastair and had built them up as members of my Black Legion force (hey these guys have been around since the Heresy and deserve the armour more than the loyalist Spesh Maureen’s do).

Having built enough for two squads, and used them in a couple of my Damnation battles I wanted to get a unit painted.

I kept the scheme pretty much to my normal – Black with silver trim, with one silver pad – but wanted to paint the cloth strips and one pad to represent their mark allegience. In this instance blue for Tzeentch. I had every intention of putting the ourobos decal on the blue pad and my custom made (thank you so much Mark) warband decal on the silver as normal, unfortunately both were just that little too wide to fit without looking odd.

I also did the bases in a style to match my bikes, mainly because their that much bigger than the normal 25mm infantry ones and looked a bit bare.

One note, I was over halfway through when I realised that I had done 6 men instead of 5. I will most likely repaint one with green accents for the Nurgle squad when I paint them up (maybe next month, haven’t decided yet).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Jon has also given me a box of sprues full of spares from his other Calth sets, which I’m combining with various chaos spares for more heretical goodness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So that’s another month done, and even finished early. I really enjoyed painting the Cataphractii, just wish Chaos got the proper rules for them same as Loyalists do.

Leave a Reply

