All Scars painting challenge – The Survivor Series 2017 – April

April, the time of Spring, so obviously the time of horrid wet weather – though thankfully its not been too bad so far and the few days we’ve had of glorious sunshine have even ecouraged me to get this months pledge done (I hate painting under artificial light).

So this months pledge was just a single model but one I really quite like – from the Dark Vengeance boxed set chosen squad, officially known as Draznicht of the Crimson Slaughter. I use him as a Dark Apostle in my Black Legion as I really like his pose and the power maul and am not a massive fan of the “official” model.

As always I started with a black primer, but as with a few of my recent models decided to take a leaf out of GW Duncan’s book (after re-watching how he did his Black Legion power armour) and drybrushed Leadbelcher over all but the cape. The cape got several thin coats of Calador Sky, with a Ceramite White on the trim before finally getting Bad Moon Yellow over that. Details on the backpack were picked out in Screaming Bell, the face and helmet horns had a basecoat of Rakarth Flesh, and then I picked the armour out with Abaddon Black. The head of the power maul I saw as more a badge of office than just a weapon so gave it a coat of Retributor Armour, as well as using it to pick out a couple of details on the body.

The base was simply Astrogranite as per my standard trooper bases.

The head and horns were given an Agrax Earthshade wash, then the head had a light drybrush of Cadian Fleshtone over that. The rest of the model had a Nuln Oil wash, the base rim tidied with Abaddon Black and job done.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some of us are about to start a Path to Glory “Call of Chaos” mini-campaign (16 players – where were all of these Chaos players previously?)  so next month I might need to paint a unit up for use in my warband for that.

Leave a Reply

